Current Trend: Patchwork

I don’t know about you, but I seem to be finding patchwork designs absolutely everywhere as of late. When I first heard about the trend months ago, I honestly have to say I was a little skeptical. When you hear the word patchwork, what do you think of right away? A quilt, some strange nod to colour blocking, or grandma trying to revive a pair of ripped up denim back in the 90’s are all things that come to mind for me. Luckily, my imagination is generally much more far fetched than the average person, so I have witnessed none of these in the world of shoe design this season in regards to the trend.

In fact, I have been mildly surprised at multiple pairs of patchwork footwear and the designers take on one of the seasons biggest trends. When I found these beauts at one of my all-time favourite designer’s boutiques- Salvatore Ferragamo, I was absolutely smitten. Patchwork done right, at last. A picture speaks a thousand words so I better show you before I ramble on:

ferragamo patchwork platformferragamo patchwork

Everything about this design is perfect. The chunky heel- a huge nod to the 70’s revival that is absolutely everywhere in fashion right now. But even better, a thin, gold outline making the colour blocking crisp and clean. Buttery leather, and a platform with contrasting woven texture to the smooth, sleek design. A heavy bottom complimented with a weightless and thin ankle strap. This shoe is everything. Seriously. It is my definition of shoe design genius.

It feels great to be back. I can’t believe that I was away as long as I was, but honestly, I don’t really know where the weeks have gone. Being busy, is just, well, busy. I’m hoping to be making more appearances. I have really missed writing and saying hello to my readers. If you have any suggestions of what you would like to see on the blog don’t hesitate to let me know, I would love to take a few requests if there are any out there! Happy long weekend to my Canadian readers. Xo

One thought on “Current Trend: Patchwork

  1. The title Patchwork made me immediately think of the patchwork quilts from the past not shoes. But why not shoes. This trend from the past with a modern day Ferragamo touch and voila! Amazing shoes, brilliant 😱😍

    Glad to see you’re back and Happy Victoria Day long weekend.

Leave a Reply

