Cozying Up with Alexander McQueen

McQueen folded detail ankle boot

There is something about wearing the perfect shearling bootie during this time of year that takes the idea of comfort and coziness over the top. I’ve always been a big fan of shearling, ever since I was a little kid. Growing up my parents had a shearling rug at the side of their bed that I’d sneak  onto and wrap myself up in more often than not. Now, I find myself wrapping up in shearling in other ways- wearing snuggly boots and warm vests or trimmed sweaters.

When I saw these boots by Alexander McQueen I immediately was sold on them. They are that perfect type of impractical practical bootie for the autumn months; a stiletto so high you need super powers to walk in them, balanced by a brilliant sole with a great tread. Add on a buckle across the arch of the foot and some durable leather and this boot is really no less than ideal for this time of year.

What is your take on shearling? Every once in a while it emerges (with the exception of a good pair of Uggs) from the shadows of its good friend faux fur (or real fur!) and makes a perfect statement. Personally, I can’t resist.

Leave a Reply

