Converse Chuck II

chuck 2

This might be new news for some of your, or old news to others but I’ll let it be known: for the first time in decades, Converse’s cult classic shoe, Chuck Taylor has finally been updated. Not intended to replace the original shoe as it is still widely available, but merely intended to bring the design up to date, the Chuck Taylor II was released a couple weeks ago and is seemingly all that I hear about.

So let’s talk about a few of the updates. We’re talking a cushiony sock liner made of Lunarlon (that stuff you find in Nike running shoes) for extra comfort and support, extra padding- especially around the tongue of the shoe, made from a microsuede lining and an updated canvas on the rest of the shoe. How updated? I think it is hard to say as they haven’t been around long enough yet but I haven’t heard any complaints about the shape of the canvas (such a fickle fabric) and the dye ruining anyones socks or clothing.

chuck 2 red

As someone who wore nothing but Chucks at one point in her life, I am totally interested to scope out this new “improved” design. I know tons of people who swear by Chucks, and tons of others who don’t realise that they do. Though not entirely my style anymore, I’d still love to test run a pair to see if the shoe is really worth the $20-$25 more. But then again, a pair is so cheapy compared to my obscene collection of designer heels, who really cares about the price increase?

So, what do you think of the new Chuck Taylor II design? Was the update necessary or are you still partial to the originals? Let me know in the comments section below and don’t forget to say hi!

Thank you to everyone who took the time to stop by and read!

4 thoughts on “Converse Chuck II

  1. I’ve always been a fan of Converse, but I’ve already had 3 pairs lol. Idk. At one point it’s like, the new design looks like the old design except with some minor tweaks, let’s spend the money on going somewhere 😀

    • I totally get what you mean and love your feedback. I’ve been a little torn over these and had lots of mixed feelings. I totally agree with you- probably not my cup of tea and would rather either get an original pair and save the money, but at the same time- for the sake of shoes and the history I’ve had wearing these, I’m tempted. Gah!

Leave a Reply

