The Chop

haircut

If you’re following me on Instagram, you already know the news- I chopped off my hair. A good six inches gone! I had been wanting to chop it off and on for about the last two years, but every time I’d get my hair done I’d totally chicken out. For you long hair girls out there, you’ll understand: long hair is like a security blanket. It kind of is a shield and protects you from the world. Mine is gone and I’m still trying to adjust, it is like everything I knew about my hair went out the window- or onto my stylist’s floor.

My styling tools and products worked really well with long hair but I’m finding that this isn’t so much the case for my chop. I’ve been experimenting a bit- each day trying a different angle. I’ve yet to get my lob looking this good again; I’ve moved to smaller round brushes, trying new sea salt sprays, &c.  For my readers out there who can relate- what do you do with your lob or shorter hair? My hair is really thick, but the strand itself is quite fine, lending itself to becoming easily frazzled. I don’t want to sound like this is a huge deal, because really, at the end of the day, it is just hair.

Have you ever chopped your locks? Any advice for lobs? Any hair stories at all?

4 thoughts on “The Chop

  1. Other than the tools used to do your hair there’s nothing to adjust to….You look amazing. Long hair… short hair you look great. But hey…I DO LIKE this new look. And if you don’t feel comfy about this new look (which you should feel great about cuz it’s stellar) you can always go shoe shopping to make you (us) feel better.

    LOVE the new look!

  2. You sound like how I used to be! I would chicken out all the time, but chopping mine off was a great decision! It’s so much easier now! Yours looks beautiful, full of life and healthy!

Leave a Reply

