Talk to My Shoes: At the Calgary Stampede

I can’t believe how much of a whirlwind the last week has been for me- well actually, I totally can because I’m no stranger to a hectic Stampede schedule, but goodness, things really have been crazy. I wanted to take a few minutes this evening to share a couple pictures of what I’ve been up to. I always feel bad when I leave my readers hanging but I’m sure you understand how life goes.

On Thursday night E and I attended some Stampede kickoff parties downtown. We spent the afternoon roasting in the sun at a rooftop bbq with a beautiful view and then went down to Knoville’s to see one of our favourite country artists. The tent was huge and busy, it was hot, and Granger Smith/ Earl Dibbles Jr. was insanely awesome. After the show we were even lucky enough to meet Granger and thank him for an awesome time.

Granger Smith

Granger and I. He had the most pleasant Texan accent and southern manners.

talktomyshoes

At the rooftop BBQ. What was I wearing that day? A slip by Wilfred, skirt from H&M. Vest also by Wilfred. Crossbody wallet by Jimmy Choo, Sunnies from Chanel and boots from Lammles.

Calgary Stampede Chuckwagon Infield

I managed to get down to the chuckwagon races and grandstand show twice (by accident) this year!  On Friday E and I went down to watch the chucks from the infield and then up high into the grandstand to watch the evening show. The infield is easily one of my favourite spots to watch the races- I love being up close and personal with the cowboys and horses, you catch so many amazing things with those seats. I also was lucky enough to score some tickets to Ranahan’s last night. If you’re a Calgarian reading this- you know it doesn’t get any better than that. If you’re unfamiliar with what this means- it basically is fine dining and the best seats in the house for the races and evening show. Are you beginning to understand why I have been so busy? Hahaha!

Brett Kissel Coke Stage

On Saturday night I had the most amazing time! We avoided the freak hail storm downtown and spent part of the evening walking around the grounds. The midway is always OK but my favourite things to do is to look at the truly western exhibits. I loved looking at all the livestock and western gear. After, we headed to the Coke stage to see one of our other favourite (and potentially my very favourite?) country artist- Brett Kissel. If you’re into country and need someone to listen to, you gotta check this guy out. We saw him open up for Brad Paisley back in October and Brett had an even more amazing show on Saturday. I spent the evening singing and dancing along in the front row and was lucky enough to, yes- meet Brett and have a picture and hug from him. He was a totally genuine, down to earth, sweet guy.

So after the crazy week I have, I can hardly say that things are winding down. I can tell you though, that I am truly the luckiest girl alive. I’m off for a new adventure very soon and am unsure if I will be able to post anything until I get back from my trip, but let’s say that I CANNOT WAIT to share more news with you. What a Summer it has already been!

I hope everyone is doing excellent! Thank you to everyone for stopping by! Yeehaw!

5 thoughts on “Talk to My Shoes: At the Calgary Stampede

  1. YeeHaw! Is there anyone in Calgary that can rock a pair of cowboy (cowgirl) boots better than you. Way to hit the Stampede running with a roof top BBQ. Calgary has a great skyline but it’s nice to see the often forgotten Calgary Tower in the back ground. It’s also nice to see the chuck from the infield perspective. Glad you had a great time.

Leave a Reply

