My Designs: Brought to Life (Part Five)

Zebra Flat Red

The first pair of shoes I ever designed (not had made, but sat down and conjured up) was actually a pair of flats made of a bunch of different materials in shades of pink. I’m not sure why I still haven’t had that particular design brought to life because they are actually a pretty cute concept, but instead, my first pair of flats I had made were actually these zebra flats.

Inspiration-wise I pulled from a few areas: I have a great pair of leopard flats with a dark turquoise suede trim that my mom surprised me with from Carolina Herrera a few years ago. They are probably the softest shoe I own, offering absolutely no support or shape and 10, 000% comfortable.  The second source is actually kind of funny; E has a pair of zebra print swim trunks that are years old now, I always thought that they were a pretty fun print. He also has quite the selection of hockey jerseys. Between the two, I thought that the shoes were sort of like smushing his shorts and jerseys into a shoe.

I added a bit more structure to the design and used a super soft calf hair for the zebra print. I as well used red suede for the trim- I prefer the flexibility of suede over a soft leather. I actually enjoyed creating this shoe so much that I turned this model as a jumping off point into a bit of a series with this design, developing strappy sandals, heels, &c. &c.

Anyway, thanks for coming by and reading. This is the last post in my little series and I hope everyone has enjoyed it. I was so excited to finally getting around to sharing these pairs with you- they may be little designs but are in fact hugely monumental to me in my fashion journey. Perhaps soon I will share some more of my designs with you! I would love to hear some feedback so don’t forget to comment below!

3 thoughts on “My Designs: Brought to Life (Part Five)

  1. Soooo, I’m very happy that WordPress decided to feature all of your posts in my feed today because I’m looking for someone to feature this Thursday on my Designer Spotlight. Interested? Actually I’m going to email you right now!
    xo
    styleontheside.com

Leave a Reply

