Travel Style

2015-01-25 13.06.31

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you have probably noticed that I am no stranger to packing up and going on a trip every so often. Usually to my favourite cities, or to visit family, I pack my bags a couple times a year and head out. Now, this being said, I’m certainly not one of those completely jet set bloggers, bouncing between New York and Paris, but I do travel more than most people I know and have seemingly developed my own approach to travel style in doing so.

1908023_10100877740054906_5740834829879869252_n

For me, finding a balance of looking put together and being comfortable is most important. I honestly cannot stand it when I am in an airport and see people in sweatpants (or yoga pants) and looking like they just rolled out of bed. I always want to point these people in the direction of the nearest gym as they are wearing the appropriate attire for one.

10173800_10101028693088816_7657408689218463117_n

If I feel like I won’t be comfortable in denim (but really, I am always comfortable in denim) I usually turn towards a soft pair of leggings. Add a favourite sweater, comfy shoes (when the weather isn’t dangerously close I grab a pair of flats that I planned on packing anyway, and add a pair of socks to my carryon for the plane. Also keep in mind the length of some of these airport terminals and the need to move quickly when making a short connection) and a cool jacket and scarf to stow away for when it gets chilly on the plane, and you’re good to go.

1098138_10100560441398956_166108294_n

I like looking put together because it makes me feel put together- and that is key to tricking everyone, regardless of how long your travel day has been. I love stepping off a plane, or out of a car and being ready to start my adventure immediately. I need to make the absolute most of my holidays, so every minute truly counts. Check out my outfit for when I arrived in NYC a couple summers ago (above). Sure, I had hung out at four airports that day (unintentionally), been awake for about 20 hours and hadn’t had dinner yet; but between the blazer, some comfortable Tory Burch flats, and taking out the braids in my hair, I was feeling pretty great despite how exhausted I was. Oh, PS- Blazer=automatic put-togetherness in any situation.

10990914_10101076042530156_7964565052195029398_n

The other thing that I want to mention is the importance of having a great travel bag. For years I always just stuffed my purse with whatever I thought I needed. Eventually this became slightly ridiculous. I have an oversize purse that is super versatile that I enjoy bringing on long hauls. It is big enough to carry a pair of flats, my laptop or tablet and whatever else I need. Lately I have been bringing my small Gucci duffel bag that is… how should I put it… basically the best friggin’ thing ever. I can use it for weekends, pack extra clothes, carry my computer, absolutely anything, and the best part is it fits under the seat infront of me on the plane. And looks super cool. Because it is super cool.

photo

Anyway, I hope this post wasn’t too windy and sporadic. I had been meaning to share these thoughts with you for a while. As I write this, I keep realizing I have more and more to say about it. So, hopefully this is a good start and I’ll just say that if you want to hear more about it from me, let me know. I’d be more than happy to ramble on further about this if you’d like.

10968339_10101075340037956_9086526079154304240_n

Thanks for stopping by and holy crap you’re amazing if you read all the way down to here. Wishing a good afternoon to all my readers!

6 thoughts on “Travel Style

  1. Okay that’s it, you need to do a whole series of this post! As much as I’d love to be one of those jet set bloggers I’m usually scrambling to look halfway decent!
    xo
    styleontheside.com

  2. It’s always nice to travel. It doesn’t have to be New York or Paris, just getting away from our everyday life is GREAT. I’m jealous how much you get to travel. Part of traveling lots is traveling in style. WOW, you are the master. Of course, airline travel always means wearing proper shoes for those security lines. I love your shoe and fashion choices, you are very inspiring.

  3. Pingback: Travel Style: What to Wear | talktomyshoes

Leave a Reply

