Custom Shoes: Do You Think It’s Worth It?

Custom Prada Shoes

With the accessibility of custom shoes growing to the masses over the past year or so, I am looking for your feedback. Influential designers including Prada, Manolo Blahnik and Stuart Weitzman to name a few, have come forward either on their own (or by collaborating with retailers like Neiman Marcus) to offer their customers the option of having their shoes specially made. Now of course this isn’t an opportunity to fully design your own shoe, but rather, to call the shots on your favourite and most loved shoes in your closet.

Ever wish you had a pair of Manolo BB pumps that were in a certain colour and just a bit higher? Or perhaps you’d love a pair of your Prada kitten heels in a popping colour instead of black. This is the type of customization we are talking about, which at the end of the day, still offers nearly endless options to suit our needs.

Has anyone taken the plunge and ordered a pair of custom shoes? I’m looking to hear from you! What is your opinion on this? Would you like more control or would you rather just leave design to the experts and happily pick up what is already available? I know that there are a few more custom opportunities to be offered by some of my favourite shoe designers in the near future. I know I am more excited than ever!

3 thoughts on “Custom Shoes: Do You Think It’s Worth It?

  1. With the variety of designers and styles- I do not see why you could never find something close to what you are looking for. But I guess the devil is in the details, and if you want perfection…you must pay for it šŸ˜‰

  2. I love the idea! There are a bunch of stores near me that custom shoes and I’m just waiting for the perfect excuse. Often I find that the heels would be perfect if they had one tiny adjustment, this is the chance for that. In fact, sometimes I would get my shoe guy to do those changes for me soo……
    xo
    styleontheside.com

  3. That’s quite the idea. I was at the Tieks website recently and surprised to see they offered their flats in almost every colour possible but this takes it to the next level. There would certainly be no reason to not get the perfect colour if you go custom.

    I still enjoy seeing what the designers come up with for amazing colours.

Leave a Reply

