NYFW SS’14: Oscar de la Renta (Part 2)

As promised, the second part to Oscar de la Renta’s show that stole my heart the other afternoon.

oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-006_224902109034 oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-067_224951545835 oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-112_225028792195In my opinion, the Oscar de la Renta show has had the best presentation of what I feel is an actual shoe collection. Up and down the runway on nearly every model was a different shoe, a different print, different lines and different presentation all together. For my frequent readers I’m sure you understand how absolutely joyous it was to have this all unveil as I reviewed each outfit frame by frame. Because of limited time and to save you from an obnoxiously large post, I have only chosen a couple pairs from the soon-to-come collection. This, is one that I will definitely be revisiting later in the season.

oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-027_224918583514 oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-048_22493527171 oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-098_225016777798A selection of print and texture in every form imaginable strutted up and down the catwalk. I like the thicker stiletto on the blue pumps above and the bit of cut out creating a mock slingback design of the flats (echoing their counterpart shown in the first set of shoes). As for these booties, need I say more?

oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-045_224933806035 oscar-de-la-renta-rtw-ss2014-details-059_224944567490Gold embellishments appeared on some of the footwear that is just to die for. I have this urge to reach out and touch them… alas I’ll have to wait patiently until they hit shelves, then I may even try them on. And of course, Oscar de la Renta recreating a strappy pump for all occasions. A smooth design that somehow remains very geometric in structure.

This of course is only a taste of the goodness that was the Oscar de la Renta SS’14 presentation. Like I said, I am so excited that what feels like a rather complete shoe collection has been presented. Perhaps my favourite (shoe wise) this far. Head over to Vogue.com for more details.

The second leg of fashion month kicks off tomorrow in London. What collections are you looking forward to? How do you feel about the success of NYFW? Favourite designers? Let me know in the comments below!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

