Alberta Flooding: You Can Help

High River Flood

I write this entry with a heavy heart as I am witness to beautiful Alberta, my forever home, be flooded and essentially many parts of it, destroyed. If you have not been watching the news, or if news from the Great White North doesn’t reach out your way, let me fill you in very briefly: southern Alberta has been undergoing a flooding emergency since Thursday. Many towns have been submerged in thick, muddy, fast flowing rivers that had not been there before, and even in my home, Calgary, over 26 communities have been evacuated, including the entire downtown core and one in which I used to live.

imgpress

The rain and flooding continues as the rivers flow east towards Saskatchewan through other cities and towns as much of southern Alberta remain in a state of emergency. While we are not all able to help fill up sandbags and sign up for clean up and restoration, there are things that you can do to help.

1009874_588381957859611_1903291574_n

The Canadian Red Cross is taking donations to help those who have been displaced from their homes and to repair the damage. This is perhaps one of the best ways you can help. Click here to visit the Red Cross website.

8555891

Another way you can help is by going to Starbucks! No I’m not pulling your leg! Until June 30th, you can make a donation to Alberta flood relief at your closest cafe. No purchase necessary.

WEA Alta Flooding 20130620

Believe me, I’d never be one to ask for anything from my readers, but any amount-anything at all is deeply appreciated. Skip that salted caramel square and donate (I know I will be) or stop by or call the Red Cross. A dollar may not seem like much, but every bit helps. Together we can make a difference.

albertaflood1

To those of you who are out west with me, stay dry and stay smiling. Seeing everyone in such high spirits despite all this makes me more proud than ever to be from Alberta.

xoxo

ps- go ahead and reblog, retweet, whatever it is you can do to spread the word.

7 thoughts on “Alberta Flooding: You Can Help

  1. This is still shocking to me living in Calgary. I wasn’t displaced by this disaster but I know 100’s of the 75,000 it did effect. Including my parents who were evacuated from our cabin in Sundre. Everyone you talk to has a different story of the effect it had on them. Sadly 3 people lost their lives from it. There a long road ahead for our hometown.

  2. Pingback: Alberta Floods Have Changed The Rockies Forever, Says Scientist « Olduvaiblog: Musings on the coming collapse

  3. Pingback: His Promise, Just Like A Rainbow in the Sky

  4. Pingback: These Boots | talktomyshoes

Leave a Reply

