Bigger is Better: Chanel SS ’13

Chanel Spring Summer ’13- if it had been done by anyone other than Karl Lagerfeld it would have been nothing short of kitschy. However, as it is Chanel and we know that Lagerfeld does no wrong, I have to state how “coocoo-bananas” (as my younger students would put it) I am about the collection. What really did it for me is how larger-than-life the accessories were. Its as if Karl Lagerfeld could hear us screaming for more and more Chanel, and, he finally sent it our way with almost paradoxical humour.

Potential hula-hoop bags, pearls the size of golfballs and silhouettes on sunglasses of Coco herself (in pearls of course), this collection is potentially my favourite of the entire fashion season. Bold statement I know, but only fitting once you see how insane the runway was.

Presenting to you some of my favourites:

I told you I’m not joking when I said hoola-hoop. I can’t wait to see this on the street!

That is indeed Coco ontop of the left eye of the sunnies. Yet another I can’t wait to see on the street.

I love this little bag- big bags little sister perhaps. Karl Lagerfeld, keeping with last years space-age/retro sort of thing has truly meshed the classicism of Chanel and the current direction of the modern world- into the future. And also, that bracelet! I’d die!  OUI!!!

 

Ok so its not as off the wall as some of the other items strolling the runway, but I have a thing for this particular arrangement of primary colours. I know I said I’m super tired of colour-blocking but this is my one exception. Solely as a result of being so incredibly reminiscent of Bert and Ernie in my eyes. Bert and Ernie do Chanel? Nevermind “Rubber Ducky I Love You” Chanel purse, I love you! I know it definitely wasn’t Lagerfelds intention but I just can’t help myself.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Bigger is Better: Chanel SS ’13

  1. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve really loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    • Definitely! I can think of a bunch of people who are probably on the waiting list for the bag already hahaha. Most runway looks are available with perhaps few exceptions for certain designers. But basically, most, if not everything is fair game.

Leave a Reply

